Clean Start

I have been on a mission lately to whip my home into shape.  When I tell you that I am a terrible housekeeper, I do not lie.  I could be worse.  We don’t have bugs or rodents, haha! But yeah.  My mother was very much a neat freak but not so much a clean freak, which I am only just realizing.  I don’t recall a routine, I was never taught how to keep house.  Oh I had plenty of chores, but I remember getting so annoyed as a kid when my mother would complain about me not knowing how to do something.  Hi, try teaching me, people aren’t born with this knowledge.  Also,  I had to do more than my share because I was a girl.  The moment that stands out in my mind is coming home in the afternoon, having been gone all day and being told to do the dishes in the sink.  Apparently, my father and brother, who had created all of the dirty dishes were rendered incapable of washing them due to their penises.  I don’t know.  ANYWAY.

I cleaned the hell out of my bathroom today.  It had been a minute and I had to do the following:

  • clean all products off of the counter
  • scrub the counter, sinks and faucets
  • sort through all the products removed and organize them (because they can’t all go on the counter)
  • clean mirror
  • clean out medicine cabinet
  • clean out drawer
  • clean cubby under the drawer, clean out and organize the set of little drawers we have in that cubby and everything that was hidden behind it
  • scrub cabinet fronts
  • scrub toilet
  • scrub tub
  • clear out all of the trash
  • sweep and scrub floors
  • wash bath mats
  • collapse from exhaustion

OK, I didn’t collapse.  I actually went to Dollar Tree because I realized that wiping down the counter will be so much easier if everything is in something that can be easily moved. I am trying to rectify problems like this as I realize them, so I went straight out to get those. Actually, I stopped at Sonic first for a milkshake.  Bourbon Brown Sugar.  I got a small and instantly regretted it.  I should have got a large.  SO GOOD.

I’ve found some good cleaning videos on YouTube and I have actually started a sort of “action” journal.  I write down weekly menus, to-do lists, take notes on cleaning, journal about my plans and accomplishments.  It’s nice.  I can’t really talk to anyone about cleaning because hi, boring.  But I am getting shit done.  And my husband is even noticing and pitching in.  Typically when I clean our room I leave his desk and nightstand alone. But he cleaned up his desk today.  So, we’re getting somewhere.  My kitchen has been clean for days but I was so tired tonight I did not clean up.  :/  I will straighten up the rest of the house tomorrow and rest.  Then the next day I will do the boys’ bathroom which thankfully is nowhere near the level ours was. Because guests use it, it stays pretty clean and I scrubbed the heck out of that toilet last night.  So I don’t know.  I may do it tomorrow too.

It’s funny, I have been working on the decor of the house for a while, obviously, but it’s always so messy and cluttered.  Now as I clean up I am loving it so much.

Leave a Reply

